BHEF Members

BHEF members provide leadership and energy for BHEF’s work. Some members contribute to specific BHEF projects. Others advocate for policy changes at the state and federal levels. Still others lead in their particular communities, working to improve education at the regional level. BHEF’s semi-annual meetings provide members with the opportunity to better understand educational and workforce challenges and solutions, network with like-minded peers across sectors, and hear from experts in areas of interest to them. For more information about membership, contact Danielle Troyan.

Ryan Oakes, Managing Director

Amazon Web Services
Teresa Carlson, Vice President, Worldwide Public Sector

Association of American Universities

American Council on Education
Ted Mitchell, President

Bloomberg LP
Peter T. Grauer, Chairman

California Polytechnic State University
Jeffrey D. Armstrong, President

Case Western Reserve University

The City University of New York
Félix M. Rodríguez, Chancellor 

Clemson University
James P. Clements, President 

Colorado State University System
Anthony A. Frank, Chancellor 

Columbia University
Lee C. Bollinger, President

Drake University
Earl F. "Marty" Martin, President 

Laura K. Ipsen, President and Chief Executive Officer

Follett Higher Education
Clay Wahl, President

Tom Caulfield, CEO

Georgetown University
John J. DeGioia, President 

The Guardian Life Insurance Company of America
Deanna M. Mulligan, President and Chief Executive Officer 

Howard University
Wayne A.I. Frederick, President 

IBM Corporation

John Wiley & Sons
Brian A. Napack, President and CEO 

Kaplan University Partners
Brandon Busteed, President


Miami Dade College
Rolando Montoya, Interim President

Office of Naval Research
Rear Admiral Lorin Selby, Chief of Naval Research

North Carolina State University 
Randy Woodson, Chancellor 

Northeastern University
Joseph E. Aoun, President 

Northrop Grumman Corporation
Kathy Warden, Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President 

The Ohio State University

Tim Ryan, US Chairman and Senior Partner

Quinnipiac University
Judy D. Olian, President

Raytheon Company
Thomas A. Kennedy, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer 

S&P Global
Douglas L. Peterson, President and Chief Executive Officer 

San Diego State University
Adela de la Torre, President

San José State University
Mary A. Papazian, President 

Brian Roach, Head of U.S. Regulated Industries 

Stanley Black & Decker, Inc.
James M. Loree, President and Chief Executive Officer

State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company
Michael L. Tipsord, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer 

Stevens Institute of Technology
Nariman Farvardin, President 

Christina Cutlip, Senior Managing Director

Union College
David A. Harris, President

University of Notre Dame
Rev. John I. Jenkins, C.S.C., President 

University System of Maryland
Jay A. Perman, M.D.

University of Virginia
James E. Ryan, President

Virginia Tech
Timothy D. Sands, President

Washington University in St. Louis
Andrew D. Martin, Chancellor 

West Virginia University
E. Gordon Gee, President


Emeriti Members

Roberts T. Jones, President
Education and Workforce Policy, LLC

David E. Maxwell, President Emeritus 
Drake University

Edward B. Rust, Jr., Retired Chairman of the Board
State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company